Tournaments Home

FORU (Federation of Oceania Rugby Unions) manages the following tournaments in the region.

Pacific Rugby Cup


In 2011 the IRB announced an exciting new format for the IRB Pacific Rugby Cup which saw Super Rugby teams from Australia and New Zealand participating for the first time.  The new format was an outstanding success and has been continued in 2012 and 2013.

The three A teams from Fiji, Samoa and Tonga are taking on the Academy teams from eight Super Rugby teams in three separate series - an Australian series, a New Zealand series and a Pacific Island series where the three Pacific Island teams will play each other.

The new format takes the IRB Pacific Rugby Cup to a new level. Designed to bridge the gap between domestic and International rugby for the best locally-based players from Fiji, Samoa and Tonga, the new format will now expose the Pacific Island players and management to some of the best professional rugby structures in the world.

The Tournament is a key element of the IRB's global strategic investment program aimed at improving the competitiveness of the global Game.

2006 Champions : Savai'i Samoa
2007 Champions : Upolu Samoa
2008 Champions : Tautahi Gold
2009 Champions : Fiji Warriors
2010 Champions : Fiji Warriors
2011 Champions : Fiji Warriors

Pacific Nations Cup


The IRB Pacific Nations Cup is an International round-robin competition comprising the test teams of Fiji, Samoa, Tonga and Japan.  The Junior All Blacks - who in 2008 were replaced by the New Zealand Maori - and Australia A no longer participate.  

Like the IRB Pacific Rugby Cup, the IRB Pacific Nations Cup is a key component of the IRB’s Strategic Investment initiative and is designed to provide the Pacific Island Nations and Japan with regular high level international competition.  In 2013 the IRB Pacific Nations Cup has been expanded to include USA and Canada in a welcome development to what is becoming an increasingly popular tournament.  The addition of these two Unions is a boost for the growth of rugby and will expose more people to the unique style of rugby played in the Oceania Region.  Importantly, it will contribute specifically to an increase in Test matches for all Member Unions and build towards a more competitive Rugby World Cup.

In 2013 IRB Pacific Nations Cup matches will be hosted in Japan, Fiji, Canada and USA.  All five teams will travel to Japan for the final two rounds of the Tournament.

2006 Champions: Junior All Blacks
2007 Champions: Junior All Blacks
2008 Champions: New Zealand Maori
2009 Champions: Junior All Blacks
2010 Champions: Samoa
2011 Champions: Japan
2012 Champions: Samoa

Oceania Cup

The Oceania Cup is FORU's showpiece rugby event for our Development and Targeted Unions and is held biennially. FORU Member Unions eligible to participate in the Tournament are American Samoa, Cook Islands, Niue, New Caledonia, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tahiti, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Wallis and Futuna. 

The 2013 Oceania Cup will hosted by the Papua New Guinea Rugby Football Union in July 2013.  Four teams will be competing in the 2013 Oceania Cup - Cook Islands, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Tahiti.  The Tournament will be a qualifier for 2015 Rugby World Cup, with the winner of the 2013 Oceania Cup playing Fiji in 2014 for the Oceania 1 spot at Rugby World Cup.

Papua New Guinea are defending champions after winning the 2011 Oceania Cup by defeating Niue 36-7 in their Round 3 match at Lloyd Robson Oval in Port Moresby on 3 December 2011.

2008 Champions: Niue
2009 Champions: Papua New Guinea
2011 Champions: Papua New Guinea